Book Now

  • Check-In
  • Check-Out
  • Adults
  • Children
  • Room(s)

Corbett National Park

Corbett National Park - is the oldest and the finest park of the Indian subcontinent, located across two districts, Pauri Garhwal and Nainital, at the Shivalik foothills between the Himalayas and the Terai. Its named after the famous man-eater hunter-turned-conservationist Jim Corbett who played a key role in the parks' establishments Hailey National Park on 8th August 1936. After independence it was renamed to Ramganga National Park. After the death of Jim Corbett the park was renamed as Corbett National Park, in the memory of its late founder, also the author of the book "MAN-EATERS of KUMAUN”.

On 1st April 1973 the government launched an ambitious conservation program, “PROJECT TIGER” to secure the preservation of tigers and protection of all major ecosystems in the tiger range by using the animal as a symbol of national heritage. Corbett National Park a.k.a Corbett tiger reserve became the launch site of the project.

Corbett Tiger Reserve is spread over an area of and is famous for its rich bio-diversity. It is the first national park in India that has more than 520.8 sq. km of area comprising hills, riverine belts, marshy depressions, grass lands and large lakes.Almost 73 per cent of the park is covered with dense moist deciduous forest full of Sal, Haldu, Pipal, Rohini and mango trees.

The park is considered as an ecotourism destination, with around 110 species of flora and 50 species of mammals, 580 species of birds and 25 species of reptiles.

Along with other problems of preservation of wildlife and nature, the increase in tourist activities continues to present a serious challenge to the ecosystem.For tourists and wildlife lovers, Corbett National Park is considered heaven. According to Corbett officials, more than 70,000 visitors come to the park from all over the World.

World Wildlife Fund for Nature has covered Corbett National Park under their Terai Arc Landscape Programme in order to protect the three of the five endangered species of Terrestrial Flagship, the Tiger, the Elephant and the One-Horned Rhinoceros, by restoring corridors to link up the 13 protected areas of Nepal and India to enable wildlife migration.